Becoming A Grandmother

I’m honored to call myself a grandmother. It feels as if I’ve waited my entire life to become what I am today. I didn’t know I was waiting for permission to show up but I realize now that I was. It sounds strange to say, it’s not like I wasn’t giving all that I had to my children, my loved one and to life before. But what I know now that all that I had done before seemed aimed at one precious, life giving moment.

I love the 13 Indigenous Grandmothers and the work that they are doing and have always felt that they real purpose is inspiring each of us that we all will be Grandmothers and Grandmothers one day and if we are not ready to share life giving, life sustaining traditions and teachings they we need to get busy preparing ourselves for that sacred task.

Only three months ago my granddaughter was born. I was honored and humbled to say that I was ready. Or at least ready as I was at that moment : ) Two weeks after she was born I held her and sang prayer songs to her for weeks. I whispered to her the old stories and teachings. I greeted her spirit and called her knowing into the world. Her baby mind may not understand yet but her spirit understood completely.

Her calling me to this sacred task has changed me as well. I am humbled by this remarkable journey of spirit that leads us without us knowing, having only a sincere heart and a commitment to learning, into those sacred places where we are both reduced to our essential selves and expanded beyond our humanity!

Blessings to each and every one of you!

Gemma

Posted on July 31, 2011, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

